What Time is it?

Image

 

At long last, my blog is about to end! I have enjoyed doing this blog as a whole, but the fact remains that it was, and always has been, for a class. I wish I could’ve related this blog more to our class discussions, but for me it was more of an exploration on how to create a logo, and the work was done outside of school. Going through the process of creating the logo has given me great experience, and also an addition to my resume!

I’m also very happy I decided to go in this direction because it’s introduced me to so many great things. For one thing, the VCU Student Food Pantry has made a lot of progress and will be opening Spring of 2014. I’ve gotten to meet and become friends with many of the people involved, and I’m glad I’m doing something that’s giving back to the community. When I first decided to become involved with this project, I knew from the beginning that it would transcend my Food for Thought class. Even after I turn in this blog and receive my grade, I’ve committed to creating and volunteering at the pantry until I graduate from the University. I have no regrets about that! It may be something small, but this is my introduction into the “real world” of food (or food issues I should say). 

Through this project, I’ve also met a lot of other like-minded people. After interviewing Goatacado, I now go to talk with the people there regularly, and I also now keep in touch with The Well here at VCU. I’ve also recently gotten a commission to do a logo for a student organization at UVA Wise. This project has gotten me involved in Richmond’s food community and helped me gain artistic experience! Ultimately, the ending of this for me is very bittersweet. I’ve had a lot of fun with this project, but being involved with the food pantry with continue without it.

Image

Leave a Reply

